What to expect

Please read also

What ECVET Earth building is not

Good practice examples for assessments

Examples of learning pathways


The training and assessment offer

If you are looking for a training, with or without assessement, you have to contact the individual partner organisations and ask for the details of their courses and qualifications (length, dates, prerequests, fees etc.).

The T.A.O. chart gives a general overview about which units and levels the partner organisations are working with.


Mobility opportunities

The Learn•Earth partners offer to receive one or more trainees from abroad in their courses or assessments. This has to be discussed individually. Please contact them directly to talk about possibilities, costs and language issues.

It is also possible to organise assessments during or after work placements in a company.

Contact the closest Learn•Earth partner organisation!

For general information and links about mobility go here


The  Learn•Earth certificate

From 2009, the Learn•Earth (at that time called LearnWIthCay) certificate has been awarded for 6 units of learning outcomes in clay plastering. From 2015, certificates also cover load-bearing techniques and there are 9 units. Each unit consists of a package of knowledge, skills and competence necessary for professional activities, at different EQF levels:

  • qualified worker’s level (EQF Level 3)
  • foreman’s level (EQF Level 4)
  • site manager’s level (EQF Level 5)

Each of the 9 units can be individually assessed. If the oral, written and practical exams are passed successfully, a Learn•Earth certificate is awarded.

Certificates are also offered for Levels 1 and 2.

Level 1 correponds to a introductory level, when a person has discovered a technique and some basic principles and tools so that she is able to execute simple steps under direct supervision. There is no reference to a quality of the execution linked to clients.

Level 2 corresponds to a basic level of a worker that helps on a professional building site, able to execute simple tasks under direct instructions with a correct quality for clients.

If the units and their levels are represented together in a chart, this forms a matrix. The certificate shows which unit of learning outcomes has been achieved.

ECVET Earth building is designed to evolve to intergrate other techniques and levels in the future.

To the certificate is attached the description the assessment sheet with the scores achieved in the practical, written and oral exams and the description of the unit as a list of knowledge, skills and competence.

The content of the units is available to everybody so that the candidates are aware of the expectations before choosing to pass an assessment and           choosing a level.

Only organisations that have signed the MoU may deliver certificates.


Who  recognises Learn•Earth certificates?

The Learn•Earth certificate is recognised within 2 frameworks:

A- By national certifying bodies in a few countries, as part of existing qualifications (the case of UK since 2015).

The establishment of ECVET is a recommendation of the European Commission since 2009. The member states can voluntarily participate in ECVET. They have investigated the establishment of a Credit System in various sectors, and in unison with existing national training systems.


The Learn•Earth organisations have put in place strategies to get the ECVET Earth building units intergrated and count towards qualified trainings, existing or new, such as plasterer, bricklayer, painter, preserver of historical monuments, ecobuilder, ecological site manager, etc.

Only UK has already achieved this, for EQF level 3. Other countries like Czech Republic, France, Germany work towards this situation.

B- By the signatory partners of our contract called Memorandum of Understanding (since 2009).

Without waiting for the credit transfer system to be operational and earth as a construction material to be integrated into education and training for professionals in national qualifications, Learn•Earth signatory organisations decided to create a specific certificate recognising achieved learning outcomes in earth building, from EQF levels 1 to 5 for the moment.

A guide to earth building training in Europe and beyond

Rechercher dans OpenEdition Search

Vous allez être redirigé vers OpenEdition Search